Mmm…Mozu!

Posted on May 19, 2011

0


Or “one of the bestest restaurants in Global City”.

That’s probably an accurate description of Mozu Cafe Bar. I first learned of Mozu when my teammates brought me there for a late lunch. They recommended that I get one of the bestsellers, crispy binagoongang baboy.

Crispy binangoogang baboy - P160

Was I wowed! Their version of this Filipino favourite is none like any I tried before. Instead of sauteeing the pork at the start, they fried it first to crispy perfection. Much like lechon kawali, only chopped to smaller bits so they are crunchier. To foil the richness of the dish, fried eggplant and a small tomato salad is served on the side.

After a while, I felt a little dizzy and I began to itch around the lips. I knew it was because of the binagoongan. Too fatty? Too salty? Or a combination of both? At least I didn’t get rashes or something. That day, I swore I will never order that dish at Mozu again.

But a few weeks later, I was again munching happily on their binagoongang baboy. 😀 Once I see someone eating it, I just have to have the same thing. Addicting! 😀

The second dish I tried was the bagnet salad. I am still on the hunt for the best bagnet outside of Ilocos, and my quest led me to try Mozu’s version. This isn’t much different from the binagoongan. Only that the pork slices were bigger and not sauteed in shrimp paste. Also, it is served with green mango ensalada. Yum! I could say that I enjoyed this better than binagoonan…at least it didn’t make me dizzy or itchy.

Bagnet salad - P175

But I have to say that my ultimate Mozu favourite is the lechon laing. Pork is fried to crispy perfection, then put on top of a generous helping of laing (taro leaves in coconut milk). I am not much into spicy food, but I found that the spiciness of Mozu’s laing is not consistent. Sometimes, you find little bits of siling labuyo (bird’s eye chili) mixed in, but most of the time, it is not spicy at all. Which suits me just fine. 🙂

Lechon laing - P165

I haven’t had the chance to try other dishes, as I usually order any of these 3 whenever I am there. Boring huh? They do have a large selection in their menu, like appetizers, pasta, sandwiches. They also serve breakfast, coffee and dessert. At night, Mozu is also a popular watering hole for the Global City crowd.

For some reason, Mozu does not serve sodas so if you like pairing your meal with Coke, then you might end up a little dissapointed. But really, that little detail is forgotten whenever the waiter puts a plate of lechon laing in front of me. This Friday, I think I know where I’m going to drag my teammates for lunch: Mmm…Mozu!

Mozu Cafe Bar
Address: The Sapphire Residences
31st Street corner 2nd Avenue
Bonifacio Global City, Taguig
Telephone: 610-0987

Posted in: Food